I begin this blog with what was meant to be a much different post, planned for YESTERDAY. It demonstrates the blog name…Organizing Everest. My Everest yesterday was two nails in my back tire and which unbeknownst to me is a specialty tire which, in our wee little area of the state, cannot be repaired, just replaced at a whopping $500/ tire. Can I just say that this amount is over three-quarters of the amount we spent on our daughter’s college tuition last semester!

Despite the fact that I certainly did not plan to sit at my local car dealership for four and half hours while they tried to figure out who would actually be able to repair the tire, really great things happened while I waited and that is what I want to share today.

As I was sitting in the waiting room for news on my little round baby :), a gentleman and I struck up a conversation that was quite profound. He was clearly an immigrant to America, so I asked him what brought him to the U.S. He shared with me the purpose that brought him here and then launched into what drives his life, what defines him as a man. As I listened, I had to almost  manually pick up my slack-jaw, as I had never heard a man so clearly and passionately speak of what defines him as a man. What I gleaned from this man represents many of the principles I believe to be important not only in life, but in organizational life, as well.

There are also Scriptural references I will share along with the principles he shared.

1. Be humble..(Pro. 15:33, Pro. 18:12, Pro. 22:4, Col. 3:12)

2. Help those in need…(Pro. 19:17, Pro. 19:22, Pro. 21:13)

3. Look to good to all…(1 Cor. 13:4-8, Col. 3:12)

4. Be diligent in all you do…(Pro. 12:27; Rom. 12:8; 2 Cor. 8:7-8)

5. Stay sober…be watchful. (1 Thess. 5:6,8; 1 Tim. 3:2; Titus 1:8; Titus 2:2,6; 1 Peter 1:13; 1 Peter 5:8)

6.Work hard… (Pro. 18:9; Pro. 22:29; 1 Cor. 3:14-15)

7. Be financially wise…”pennies=dollars, single dollars=hundred dollars, etc.”…(Pro. 11:18; Pro. 18:9; Pro. 22:29; Pro. 24:27)

8. Be honest in all of your dealings…(Pro.11:18; Col.3:9; Pro. 6:16-19; Pro.12:19,22; Pro. 13:5; Pro. 17:7)

9.Respect and show diligent care for your parents. (Pro. 1:8; Pro. 19:26; Pro. 20:20; Pro. 23:25)

10. Money & things are not the most important things…relationships are. (Pro. 17:6; Pro. 27:10; 1 Peter 5:5; 1 Cor. 13:4-8)

Finally,

11.Be the kind of adult you want your children to become… (1 Peter 2:21; John 13:15; 2 Thess. 3:9; 1 Tim. 4:12; Titus 2)

All of these things are a good solid foundation of an organized life. Organization in a way that matters the most and will produce the kind of fruit that will endure for generations if kept in good repair, so to speak. All of the spatial organizing and time management in the world cannot produce what a heart submitted to the Lord will. Please understand that I am not discounting the value of organizing space and time, it is incredibly important, but none of that can truly happen effectively until the matters of the heart are settled. This was the reminder I received in this man; he put into words what I have harbored in my heart for quite a while.

In the end, the initial rearranging of my plans due to the tire, held a beautiful meeting. One that confirmed the desires of my heart. I did not move or destroy the mountain, but with God’s help, I moved around it and He is taking care of all the details as I entrust them to Him.

