Gosh. Here we are in February already! I can hardly believe it; though, I have to say that my life at this point is so much fuller than it was when I was younger, in both good and bad ways. And, with that fullness, comes a spinning clock, where time seems to sprout wings and fly away!

A couple of weeks ago, I encouraged you all to seek the Lord and ask Him what He would want you to do on a daily basis. Really, what He wants to accomplish in and through your lives, on the whole. I, also, told you that I would share with you what He shared with me. So, here goes!

I believe I have shared in the past that my life is filled with my precious family, ministry, going to school full-time and teaching full-time. It has been, at times, challenging to keep it all in the air and not crashing down around me. But looking back, I realize that it has not been my efforts, at all, which have kept everything from smashing to smithereens, but the Lord, who has graciously and efficiently managed it all. Why I stress?  I am not quite sure. Lack of faith? I believe, Lord, help my unbelief.

At any rate, after much prayer and counsel, He has shown me how He would like life to change a bit for me.

First, my relationship with Him needs to be first. This one I knew, but I needed to be reminded of just how much I need Him, on a second-by-second basis!

Secondly, He has shown me that my husband and children come next, but that some boundaries need to be set in terms of the children. This one is interesting, because my children have had ‘full-access’ to me for as long as I can remember. Now that they are older, the older two are in college and the younger two teenagers, both my husband and I feel it is time to show them that they need to respect boundaries set upon others’ time…namely mine. It isn’t that they are disrespectful, it is simply that I have been so available to them, that with the role I have, as student, they forget that Mom now has assignments to complete, too! In short, they need to be mindful of my schedule, as well.

Thirdly, since I have gone back to school full-time, it has been interesting trying to balance teaching, getting personal schoolwork finished, and taking care of the household. I am blessed that all have chipped in, for the most part, when it comes to taking care of things around the homestead, but there are items on the to-do list that I have always done and they do not necessarily ‘see’.

So, over the weekend, my husband encouraged me to focus on school, assuring me that he and the kids would continue helping me, but that he would get me some help in terms of deep cleaning. This is huge, in my book, because this particular issue has been the pebble in my shoe, more than anything else!

It may surprise you that an organizer is looking at these types of things in life…but dirt infiltrates our homes, too! And, we have to re-evaluate where we are, as well, and make necessary adjustments. It would be a really dishonest and lopsided picture to say that we don’t ever have to deal with these things.

I am happy to report through all of this, with the input from the Lord and from my dear husband, I have began to take out those things that need removing and incorporating those items that need to be in the mix of my daily life. Incorporating fun again has been a big theme. (I can get incredibly focused and doing what I need to, because I want to do all things well, but I forget to breathe and laugh…and that not a good thing!)

So, things like dancing to salsa music while I clean my bathroom are going in. I used to do that often. And, you know what? It makes it fun! Or singing, “I Love You Truly”  like Elmer Fudd to my children while I prepare dinner. (Did that one last week…we all rolled.) It was great!

Laughter really is good medicine. While you are seriously examining what needs to stay and go, don’t forget to laugh and have fun. We only have one time around on this planet and we need to make the most of it, not just for ourselves, but for those we love.

Have a blessed day…grab your loved ones and go out have some fun!

